Monday, May 31, 2021

8:30 JOIN IN
9:00OC & PCWELCOMEWelcome talks to ASHPC21 online (by chairs: Zoran Ren, Davor Bračko, Claudia Blaas-Schenner)
9:15Chair: Christoph DellagoTopicMaterials science / materials discovery
9:15Nicola MarzariKEYNOTEMaterials discovery at the intersection between high-performance and high-throughput ...
10:00Santanu SahaExploring B-C phase diagram using Crystal Structure and High-Throughput Screening ...
10:20Soner SteinerDFT simulation of the physical properties of the newly discovered borides Mn3−x{Rh,Ir}5B2 ...
10:40 - 11:00 BREAK
11:00Chair: Siegfried HöfingerTopic   Running and using HPC clusters efficiently
11:00Jan EitzingerClusterCockpit — A web application for job-specific performance monitoring
11:20Alois SchlöglManaging Software on a heterogenous HPC cluster
11:40Vladislav KashanskyAutomated Workflows Scheduling via Two-Phase Event-based MILP Heurisitc for MRCPSP ...
12:00 - 13:00 LUNCH
13:00POSTERS   Poster Session    
 P 1.Hermann Schwärzler Poster        Embarrassingly Parallel: mothur’s pairwise.seqs is a Case in Point
 P 2.Blaž StresPosterMetagenomics data analysis software: trouble in HPC paradise
 P 3.Thomas KlammsteinerPosterHow high-performance computing brings our understanding of insect-based gut microbiomes ...
 P 4.Leon DeutschPosterHPC in biomed: from bacterial taxonomy to functional gene microbiology and machine learning
 P 5.Soner SteinerPosterThe effect of magnetism to the elastic constants in the the high entropy alloy CoCrFeMnNi
 P 6.Lorenz RomanerPosterHybrid approaches for DFT simulations of crystallographic defects for physical metallurgy applications
13:30Chair: Andrej FilipčičTopicClimate and EuroHPC & EuroCC
13:30Emily CollierExploiting kilometer-scale grid spacing for climate simulations over the Himalayas and...
13:50Bastian KollerKEYNOTEStrengthening the European HPC ecosystem - strategy, technology, synergies
14:25Damjan HarischSlovenian National Competence Centre HPC
14:40Markus StöhrIntroducing EuroCC Austria
14:55short break
15:00Chair: Andrej Filipčič Q & A EuroHPC & EuroCC with: Bastian Koller, Damjan Harisch, Jan Jona Javoršek, Markus Stöhr, Christoph Dellago, Andrej Filipčič
16:00 END

Tuesday, June 1, 2021

8:30 JOIN IN
9:00Chair: Janez Povh        TopicMolecular simulation
9:00Matej PraprotnikKEYNOTEMultiscale simulations of open molecular systems
9:45Jernej StareScientific computing at National Institute of Chemistry: Elucidation of the driving force ...
10:05Thomas StocknerUsing MD simulations to study the occlusion of the neurotransmitter serotonin by SERT ...
10:20Blaž KamenikMultilevel computational modeling of freeze-drying
10:45 - 11:00 BREAK
11:00Chair: Siegfried Höfinger    Topic          Facilitating HPC access for our users
11:00Miran UlbinWeb-based user interface to SLURM
11:20Florian GoldenbergA jupyterhub at the Vienna Scientific Cluster
11:40Soner SteinerPresenting the jupyterhub at Vienna Scientific Cluster ...                                                                                
12:00 - 13:00 LUNCH
13:00Chair: Christoph DellagoTopic      HPC Training & Education
13:00Pavel TomšičErasmus+ project: SCtrain
13:15Chair: Christoph DellagoQ & AHPC Training & Education with: Pavel Tomšič, Claudia Blaas-Schenner, Christoph Dellago, et al
13:30Chair: Zoran Ren                TopicEuroHPC systems available (soon)
13:30Mirko CestariKEYNOTELeonardo precusor of exascale system hosted in Italian Big Data Technopole                                   
14:15Dejan ValhKEYNOTEHPC Vega
15:00 - 15:15 BREAK
15:15Chair: Ernst HaunschmidTopicVienna Scientific Cluster (VSC)
15:15Jan ZabloudilThe Immersion Cooled VSC-3 – an Obituary
15:30Herbert StöriVSC-5 and Beyond — a Peek Preview
15:45Chair: Ernst Haunschmid                Q & A          VSC with: Herbert Störi, Christoph Dellago, Alexander Ostermann, Jan Zabloudil, Markus Stöhr, Dieter Kvasnicka, Ernst Haunschmid
16:00 END

Wednesday, June 2, 2021

8:30 JOIN IN
9:00Chair: Zoran RenTopicHPC & Industry
9:00Tomi IlijašKEYNOTEIs your company ready to benefit from HPC services and lift to Industry 4.0?
9:45   Maruška Čuš                    Digital Innovation Hub facilitating the supporting environment for HPC services                              
10:05   Kenneth Tan                    Bioinformatic Cloud: scalable, flexible and secure                              
10:05 - 10:20 BREAK
10:20Chair: Janez Povh           Topic         HPC fundamentals
10:20Josef WeinbubEvaluating Parallel Feature Detection Methods for Implicit Surfaces
10:40Sascha HunoldAn In-Depth Analysis of MPI Collectives or Why MPI Introspection is Needed                                  
11:00 - 11:20 BREAK
11:20Chair: Eduard Reiter     Topic          HPC heart
11:20Mojgan GhodratiEffect of left atrial appendage occlusion on thromboembolic risk under mechanical circulatory …
11:40Elias KarabelasIncorporating Heart Valves Using a Varying Permeability Approach
12:00 - 13:00 LUNCH
13:00Chair: Alexander OstermannTopic    Big Data & AI
13:00Aleš ZamudaParallelization of Benchmarking using HPC: Text Summarization in Natural Language ...
13:20Rok HribarClustering scientific bibliographic data with symmetric orthogonal matrix tri-factorization
13:40Giovanna Roda      Big Data on the Vienna Scientific Cluster
14:00 - 14:20 BREAK
14:20Chair: Andrej Filipčič     TopicHigh-energy physics
14:20Jakob NovakUncovering new physics with vector boson scattering
14:40Martin SchwinzerlOptimising Parallel Performance In Beam-Dynamics Simulations
15:00Ivona VasileskaTask based parallelisation of the Particle-In-Cell codes
15:20Chair: Andrej FilipčičCLOSINGFarewell and thank you for attending ASHPC21 with: Andrej Filipčič and outlook towards 2022
16:00 END